Members of the Independent Commission on International Development Issues (ICIDI)

Goran Ohlin

No photo
at this time

Goran Ohlin, a native of Sweden, served the distinguished duties of Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations during the 1980s. In the early 60s, Ohlin was a professor at the Wenner Gren Center, Institute for International Economic Studies, University of Stockholm. He prepared a report on the place of paper in development and foreign aid, at the instance of the United Nations Food and Food and Agriculture Organization Advisory Committee on Pulp and Paper, and in collaboration UNESCO.


On September 24, 1988, Ohlin took part in the meeting of Ministers of the Group of Twenty-Four on International Monetary Affairs, which was held in Berlin. This annual meeting evalutes the current world economy and the global economic outlook.

Well known as an Assistant Secretary-General of the UN and as an economist, Ohlin was also a demographer. He focused on population studies and published "The Population Concern" in the journal Ambio in 1992. He also translated Heckscher's An Economic History of Sweden in 1968, and in 1974 was included in Thomas Malthus' classic, "An Essay on the Principle of Population", in the commentary section as a contemporary opponent to Malthusian theory.

Back to top...

You are currently viewing
– Brandt 21 Forum –
a project of the
Centre for Global Negotiations

The Brandt Equation: 21st Century Blueprint for the New Global Economy
Table of Contents
PDF download (257KB)

About the Brandt Commission
Biography: Willy Brandt

Members of the Independent Commission on International Development Issues (ICIDI)
Willy Brandt (Chair)
Abdlatif Y. Al-Hamad (Kuwait)
Rodrigo Botero Montoya (Colombia)
Antoine Kipsa Dakouré (Upper Volta)
Eduardo Frei Montalva (Chile)
Katherine Graham (USA)
Edward Heath (UK)
Amir H. Jamal (Tanzania)
Lakshmi Kant Jha (India)
Khatijah Ahmad (Malaysia)
Adam Malik (Indonesia)
Haruki Mori (Japan)
Joe Morris (Canada)
Olof Palme (Sweden)
Peter G. Peterson (USA)
Edgard Pisani (France)
Shridath Ramphal (Guyana)
Layachi Yaker (Algeria)

Ex officio Members
Jan Pronk
Goran Ohlin
Dragoslav Avramovic

Contact Us · Site Map · Search · Help
Centre for Global Negotiations, Copyright © 2010 | Terms of Use | Privacy Notice