Members of the Independent Commission on International Development Issues (ICIDI)

Peter G. Peterson


Born on June 5, 1926, Peter G. Peterson is Chairman and Co-founder of the Blackstone Group, Chairman of the Federal Reserve Bank in New York, Chairman of the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), founding Chairman of the Institute for International Economics (IIE), and founding President of the Concord Coalition. He is also Co-Chair of the Conference Board Commission on Public Trust and Private Enterprises.

Peterson is a former chair/CEO of Lehman Brothers (1973-1977) and former chair/CEO of Lehman Brothers, Kuhn, Loeb (1977-1984). From 1963-1971, he was chairman/CEO of the Bell and Howell Corporation.


Peterson served as Assistant to the President for International Economic Affairs (1971) under Richard M. Nixon. He was named as Secretary of Commerce by Nixon in 1972. He also assumed the chairmanship of Nixon's National Commission on Productivity and was appointed by Nixon as the U.S. Chairman of the U.S.-Soviet Commercial Commission.

He also currently serves on the boards of directors at Sirius Satellite Radio, and formerly served on the boards of the Sony Corporation, Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Company (3M), General Foods Corporation, RCA, The Continental Group, and Cities Service.

Peterson is Trustee at the Committee for Economic Development, the Japan Society, and the Museum of Modern Art; and is a Director of the National Bureau of Economic Research, the Public Agenda Foundation, and the Nixon Center.

He is the recipient of Honorary Ph.D. degrees from Colgate University, Georgetown University, George Washington University, Northwestern University, the University of Rochester (NY), and Southampton College of Long Island University. Mr. Peterson, who resides in New York City, is married to Joan Ganz Cooney, Founder and Chairman of the Executive Committee of Children's Television Workshop ("Sesame Street," "Electric Company," and "3-2-1 Contact"). He is the father of five children.

Back to top...

You are currently viewing
– Brandt 21 Forum –
a project of the
Centre for Global Negotiations

The Brandt Equation: 21st Century Blueprint for the New Global Economy
Table of Contents
PDF download (257KB)

About the Brandt Commission
Biography: Willy Brandt

Members of the Independent Commission on International Development Issues (ICIDI)
Willy Brandt (Chair)
Abdlatif Y. Al-Hamad (Kuwait)
Rodrigo Botero Montoya (Colombia)
Antoine Kipsa Dakouré (Upper Volta)
Eduardo Frei Montalva (Chile)
Katherine Graham (USA)
Edward Heath (UK)
Amir H. Jamal (Tanzania)
Lakshmi Kant Jha (India)
Khatijah Ahmad (Malaysia)
Adam Malik (Indonesia)
Haruki Mori (Japan)
Joe Morris (Canada)
Olof Palme (Sweden)
Peter G. Peterson (USA)
Edgard Pisani (France)
Shridath Ramphal (Guyana)
Layachi Yaker (Algeria)

Ex officio Members
Jan Pronk
Goran Ohlin
Dragoslav Avramovic

Contact Us · Site Map · Search · Help
Centre for Global Negotiations, Copyright © 2010 | Terms of Use | Privacy Notice